Skip to content

Rafa: I’m Staying At Liverpool

March 22, 2007
by

There’s been a lot of speculation recently in both the English and Spanish media about the future of Rafa Benitez, but he has today officially denied the rumours by stating he is going nowhere:

I think it’s important the fans know I am completely committed to Liverpool Football Club and I’m going nowhere.
“I know there’s been a lot of speculation in the Spanish media linking me with Real Madrid.

“Any manager would be honoured to be associated with such a famous club, especially as Madrid is my home city and also my former club. However, I want to make it clear I am very happy at Anfield and very happy in England and I’m genuinely excited by what the future holds for Liverpool.

“I’ve had some extremely positive discussions with the new owners and share their enthusiasm and determination to take this club back to the very top.

“I will be sitting down shortly with both Mr Gillett and Mr Hicks to discuss things face to face, but an enormous amount of work is already underway in preparation for the way forward.

There has been a lot of speculation that Real Madrid would come calling this summer (for the 2nd year running) to test Liverpool’s and Rafa’s commitment to each other, as they look to replace the soon to be axed Fabio Capello.

Rafa shunned Real’s advances last summer but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t slightly concerned that Rafa could leave Liverpool, especially if Real are the ones that come calling. The above statement has proved my fears are unfounded and I never really believed he would leave but you just never know in football.

Tom Hicks also stated that Rafa is the man they want to take us to the next level so good news all round. Rafa and the new owners are scheduled to sit down after the Arsenal match for their first proper meeting as joint owners and manager, face to face. What I would give to be a spider on that wall, as long as nobody tried to squash me. 😐

Rafa Staying At Liverpool

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

